P.S.: Meso is live!

Woo-hoo! I got my mesostic generator up & running on Django at PythonAnywhere, and it does its thing. Rock that mesostic! 🙂

Here’s a sample, read through Django’s template language introduction with “Django” as the spine:

                      Document this
explains the language Just
        xml/html templAtes.
                     oNe more

                althouGh that has a
           special belOw.
                      Dot (.)
                    obJects
                    thAt
                dictioNary
                 throuGh
                     lOwer filter, which text
               “chaineD.” the output
                      Join
                      A list with
              list|joiN:", " }}. provides about thirty
                      Give

                     yOu

…hee, I like how it threw “chained” in there. Get it? 😛 Go on now, pull the other one–it has got bells on. Make your own mesostic here: P.S.: Meso.

Side-note: I am posting this in the middle of the night because I thought it was working four hours ago (and wrote the post up to this paragraph then), but apparently when you import a module, its global variables aren’t global for its functions anymore–if program X imports program Y, program X’s global variables are the only global variables, looks like. So I had to figure that out, which took a long time because I thought it was a problem with the textarea widget or Django forms in general, rather than a plain ‘ole Python noob error. Once I found the problem, two lines fixed it up. Shiny. Don’t worry if you didn’t follow that; I had to write it out for me.

Point being, it works! Go! Allez! Make poetic nonsense!

10 thoughts on “P.S.: Meso is live!

  1. Hi!
    Finally, someone writing about mesostics who actually knows their rules!
    (and the example and your description actually point toward 100% mesostics!),
    but, I can’t get your “Meso” to work with any text tho. It seems that there’s a tech
    glitch somewhere? I’m getting a “Forbidden 403” with a lot of explanatory text.
    Is it the system or me? Thanks!

    • Huh. It loads fine for me, and at least used to work for others in ModPo (and presumably for visitors from the wikipedia page on mesostics, since no one has taken the link down or commented about it, though the link’s been there for several months). Maybe just a glitch on my host site or pythonanywhere? The direct link to the program, without my site’s skin, is here: http://vyh.pythonanywhere.com/psmeso/ – does that work for you?

    • …btw, I tried it on the text of your comment and got this:

      finally someone writing about mesostiCs who knows
                                           And
                                           Glitch
                                i’m forbiddEn

      Thought that was kind of cute. 🙂

  2. Thanks! I tried it without the skin and it worked,
    so I came back to the “site” so I could make a screen-grab
    of the “403” and it worked! So, yes! a thousand thanks for
    setting this up and for getting it right. You wouldn’t believe
    the number of people who just write a bunch of letters down
    the middle and call it a “mesostic”. They’re even teaching it
    this way in some lit/poetry classes.

    thanks again,

    ®ø∂

  3. also…yes, I thought the mesostic comment was cute too,
    but why did it skip the word “actually” instead of making it
    the “A” in “Cage”? hmmm…I’ve noticed this with some of
    the ones that I tried – that it arbitrarily leaves out some words.
    Still: it’s much better than any other online mesostic creator I’ve seen.

  4. someone writing about mesostiCs who
    Actually knows…
    Glitch
    somEwhere

    between the “C” and the “A” there is neither “C” nor “A”
    between the “A” and the “G” there is neither “A” nor “G”
    between the “G” and the “E” there is neither “G” nor “E”
    which is the 100% rule.

    also, the word “knows” is kinda hanging out there
    by itself – not connected to a word before or after
    which doesn’t work in a mesostic. You can use as
    many/few wing words as comfortable, but they have
    to be consecutive while still following the mesostic rule.

    Sorry, don’t mean to pick it apart, but it’s soooo close
    to being perfectly done.

  5. I’m not familiar with a rule about consecutive wing-words. Where can I find it? These were my sources:
    http://everything2.com/title/mesostic
    http://www.writing.upenn.edu/~afilreis/88v/perloff-on-cage-howl.html
    http://www.writing.upenn.edu/~afilreis/88v/cage-quotes.html

    I encountered them, and mesostics, through Al Filreis’s class, ModPo, on Coursera. These sources don’t mention keeping consecutive wing-words, and if I understand the description of Mesolist, the spine itself could be out of order (though in my program it can’t). I wrote my program to deliberately not include random eligible wing-words, in the spirit of Cage’s remark, “Then I take out the words I don’t want.”

Leave a Reply

