Piano for Friday: Prelude no 2 in C minor (Bach)

It’s been some time since I last made a Friday piano post – too long. So here is a favorite of mine that I can’t quite believe I haven’t shared yet: a prelude from Book 1 of J.S. Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier, here performed by Daniel Ben Pienaar. It’s a lovely, lively, fast little piece, and it dances a frenzy around my ears so I can almost see the notes bouncing in the air. (I almost said frolicking.)

Unfortunately, WordPress won’t let me embed the song (although Magnatune now has code to let you embed albums, WP still won’t allow the code in posts). So, you’ll just have to click and download to play in your media player.

Prelude No. 2 in C Minor (J.S. Bach) – Daniel Ben Pienaar

Now, you might wonder why I am posting only the prelude, when the prelude is immediately followed by a fugue. I’m glad you asked. ๐Ÿ˜› I first became familiar with this piece when I followed the command of my brother and watched 32 Short Films about Glenn Gould. (An entrancing art film which I highly recommend – if you can manage to find a copy. The DVD sells for a minimum of $150 used on Amazon; my college just happened to have it – a music professor had bought and donated it when it was first released, and my brother found it in the library catalog. He got pretty excited.)

The ‘short film’ featuring Prelude No. 2 is one of my two favorites – and that’s facing some tough competition. ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s called CD318, and here ’tis:

2 thoughts on “Piano for Friday: Prelude no 2 in C minor (Bach)

Leave a Reply

