Oh yeah, and…

…I finished the Harry Potter series. Um. … … I think I already knew that Snape is supposed to turn out a good guy in the end; what I can’t decide is whether Rowling did an incredible job playing him up as a treacherous vermin, or a really lousy job glossing the story so he’s good. The main clue that he’s good (that I remember) was some hesitancy to take the unbreakable oath, which happens at least a book and a half before his story is revealed; meanwhile, I can’t make out why Dumbledore would have been pleading with him. I can make stuff up, but then I’m writing the story. With situations like that, isn’t the ‘actual fact’ supposed to make just as much sense as the illusion you’re supposed to believe?

(I did enjoy the series, though, don’t get me wrong.)

4 thoughts on “Oh yeah, and…

  1. Oh man, I remember all the debates that were happening, between HBP and DH, on whether Snape was a good or bad. I guess maybe it’s different if you read the books in one go? (Also, you seem like a very well-read person, don’t forget these started out as kids books!)
    Did the “19 years later” thing annoy you too?

  2. Oh, I debated it a bit with myself, too – I could never buy into “Snape is good” or “Snape is bad” (which is, I imagine, a main difference between a 25-year-old reading it and a 12- or 15-year-old – the kid would follow along with every turn). I have to wonder when in the writing of the series she decided he was good; the way it reads, she could have been undecided until the last book (or book 6, as the Dumbledore hand thing could have fit about equally well either way).

    Nineteen years later was a bit abrupt. I mean, there was only a jump of ten years at the beginning of the series. šŸ™‚ If I think about it, though, it was maybe a bit more cheerful than it needed to be – I mean, they lost a lot of friends and teachers by the end of the battle, and instead of any hint of mourning afterwards or the whole rebuilding issue, it jumps straight to “happily ever after.”

    (Also, what ever happened to the Dursleys?)

  3. Haha, nevermind the Dursleys, what about Hermione’s parents? lol

    And yes, there should have been a bit more of a mourning period, I think. But then I guess the book would have been ridiculously long if she had.
    It didn’t really feel like a satisfied end though.

    The story is that the first thing she wrote HPwise was the 19yearsness, and it had to stay locked in a safe or whatever. So I think she always knew that Snape was good. There are hints that Rickman was told this when he started playing Snape as well. You can see in the movie there are some points where Snape is really protective over the kids (when he’s not hitting them with books) like in POA when Lupin has just transformed and he puts himself between them.

  4. It wouldn’t have had to be much longer, just have, I don’t know, a hint of a shadow in the epilogue. A figurative cloud or two.

    But if she always knew Snape was good, then kudos, and I am well impressed.

Leave a Reply

