Pining for a greasy-fast computer

And now for something completely different: Wow, hat-wearing cacti are rather popular of late. 😉

And now for something completely different: I am in love with this computer (almost):

Sony CW Series [insert long serial code: VPCCW27FX/B]

14″ screen
1600×900 resolution
NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M graphics card with 512MB dedicated vram
Windows 7
Intel Core i5 520M 2.4GHz dual-core cpu
500GB 5400rpm hard drive
4GB DDR3 1066 ram
Blueray/DVD-RW optical drive
5.3 lbs
and some other stuff
$1120 Newegg, $845 open box

Now, there are drawbacks here, hence the “almost.” My true customization would swap the Blueray for a 7200rpm hdd and a slightly faster (2.53GHz dual-core) processor. There’s an ASUS that does Sony one up on that count (with a 1.6GHz quad-core and a 500GB 7200rpm hdd … plus full HD – 1920x1080p and 1 gig of dedicated vram); but it costs $150 more, lacks Blueray, is 15.6″ and 2 lbs heavier, and has the worst battery life since my old, old Dell, which can’t get through start-up before the battery dies.

But the CW – I could get this thing for $850, now. Oh man oh man oh man.

I should email Sony Style and ask if they’ll let me customize it even more (their own customization options don’t seem to include 1600×900 resolution for the CW series, just the typical measly 1366×768). If I could, then I could really have the computer I want, and not feel like I ought to throw down so much money for something that’s only almost what I want. Clearly, they do all the customizations I would choose, they just don’t put them all together the right way.

Oh, how I want a new computer. Sammy does ok for what it is (NC10), and the battery lasts for ages, and it’s charmingly small and light and beautiful; but I can’t play games so well without an optical drive, and I can’t edit photos so well on a 1024×600 screen, and I can’t render fractals and landscapes so well on a 1.6GHz single-core processor (with a 5400rpm hard drive, at that). Ah…

Leave a Reply

