Piano for Friday: Hungarian Rhapsody #2 (Liszt)

Liszt is ridiculous. Is it true that he broke pianos? This is performed by M.A. Hamelin; I find it … impressive (albeit with some funny faces made at the piano).

There were some pretty derogatory comments about Maksim on the Hamelin video, so for comparison, here’s Maksim playing the same piece. If I don’t look at it, I think I prefer it. Well, maybe – Hamelin seems more dynamic and technical, Maksim seems dancelike. And my saying so has nothing to do with his periodic apparent attempts at interpretive dance whilst seated at the piano. (I had to say ‘whilst’ because of the theatricality of it. And the gothwear.)

Also, I didn’t realize how widely used this piece was in cartoons. Look it up — it’s been used and used, reused and used again. Malicious pianos, malicious baddies wanting a good piano concert (??), and on.

Leave a Reply

