Piano for Friday: Haydn sonata in B minor, no. 47

Ivan Ilic has four albums of classical piano on Magnatune. He’s good–this sonata by Haydn is my favorite so far, and I tried to find a YouTube video of someone playing it. I prefer to embed the song rather than have to post a link. There were a couple that were played pretty well, but I just couldn’t post them after I’d already heard Ilic’s performance. It has an expressiveness that the videos lack…I don’t know how to explain it, except to say that comparing Ilic’s recording to the videos, I can hear that Ilic is a pianist, while the others are just people playing piano.

Haydn Sonata in B Minor no. 47 mvt. 2

Leave a Reply

