Project Gutenberg: Four weeks in

On Friday, just over three weeks after I joined Distributed Proofreaders, I completed my three-hundredth page in the first round of proofing. That means I qualify to be a second-round proofer, and today I proofed my first few pages in that round.

I’ll definitely be going slower now, both to make sure I don’t miss any little errors that have already been overlooked and to ensure I have a high accuracy ratio in round 2.* I’ll be working a fair amount on projects marked off as “P3 Qualifiers”–which is to say, projects that will skip the queues in round 3 so they can be proofed there and evaluated for accuracy. In order to qualify for round 3 proofreading, I need to proof 50 eligible pages in round 2–pages where I had to make an edit–and make no more than an average 1 error per five pages. I also have to have proofread at least 400 pages total (I’ll probably proof the extra 50 in round 1 French projects, as “LOTE” or Languages Other Than English projects move a lot slower, and they’re fun 😉 ).

There’s an extra portion to the P3 qualification process, as well. I have to complete 50 pages of round 1 formatting. Formatting happens after a project has gone through three rounds of proofreading; this is where we’ll add back in markings for things like italics, bold, illustrations, and so forth. Half of it is html mark-up. I looked over the formatting guidelines and took the quiz earlier today (required prior to doing any formatting), and I’ve done several pages already. For now, I like it. Don’t know if I’ll be able to make myself do 400 pages and go on to the second-round formatting, but 50 pages will go by nicely enough.

I bet I will, though. The 400-page formatting qualification is the same for post-processing, which sounds daunting…which means I will probably try it. 8)

* Also, I won’t have nearly as much downtime at work–we’re starting the immense two-month-long hiring process for our most involved program. And I’m both calling candidates to pre-screen them and schedule their first interviews (and, later, orientation sessions), and directing them when they come. There are four staff doing first-round interviews, and they schedule interviews in back-to-back half-hour blocks. Do the math; even if each person only has interviews half of each day, that’s a lot of people. Oh, and I’m also supervising their placement tests. That and we’re not done interviewing for two of the three other fall crews; and this, in addition to the rest of what I normally do, plus possibly helping to tutor the current GED students who’re in a slightly mad rush to earn their GEDs by the second week of September. …This should be fun.

Leave a Reply

