Mission accomplie

Taylor. The pear was a Taylor’s Gold. I now have three more.

…Of course I had to consult Google about it.  Allow me to mention that my very very favorite apple is the Braeburn, 1950s-era crossbreed of somewhat uncertain parentage.  It came from New Zealand, and is one of the primary varieties grown there now.  It’s got a great balance of sweetness and tartness, if you’re curious (coming from someone who won’t touch a Granny Smith unless it’s in a pie, but is almost equally unimpressed with Fuji).  Just don’t keep them a month before eating them…but hit a crisp ripe Braeburn, put a little peanut butter on it, and heaven will descend upon your palate.  😉

Anyway, yes, the Taylor’s Gold also had its origins in New Zealand – discovered by a farmer near Nelson in 1986 (hey, I spent two weeks there in ’05! cool place, if a bit too ‘artsy’).  It’s a mutation of the Comice, which I must admit I haven’t had more than once.  I think the ones I’ve seen tend to be bigger, and I like a more manageable piece of fruit.

Also, recommendation command: if you don’t hate pizza, you must try Home Run Inn. It is the very best pizza you will ever find in the frozen foods aisle; I’m even willing to argue that it’s better than any that Amy’s would make (they make pizza, too, right? not just blow-your-mind amazing ethnic food?).  The crust is a butter crust, real butter, and a surprising amount of the pizza’s 2# weight is toppings.  Good toppings.  Of course, it comes with a price tag – tending toward $8 for one pizza, normal price. I got one for a little over $5 this weekend…I’ve been on the lookout for a sale better than $6 for quite a while now. It feels wrong to pay over $5 for a pizza from the grocery store, when $5 gets you a cheap take-out pizza – and while hot ‘n ready may make you sorry, Pizza Mia isn’t as bad as its rap. But for Home Run Inn, oh. It. Is. Worth. It.

I’ve had the real thing, at one of their pizzerias in Chicago, and it was pretty impressive.  But for all the difference in price (typically over $20 in-house, versus the relatively easy-to-find $6 in-store price), the difference in taste is quite small.  I’d venture to say the frozen pizza is more worth its price than the freshly-made.  Significantly so.

The best ones to try?  IMO, of course: red plum tomato and sausage supreme (with fire-roasted vegetables).

Leave a Reply

