Ruminating, part deux

And now for something not really so very different.  Well, a little different: a caveat to yesterday’s post, but not to anything I literally wrote.

Both poems – the Rumi that I copied and the cummings that I linked – are by religious poets.  One was a Moslem (Sufi mystic), the other Christian (Unitarian, I think).

I, however, am not religious.  I am agnostic; ‘God’ as represented by world religions is a supernatural being, outside of or at least not constrained by the laws of physics.  The physical universe contains everything that is observable; this god, as claimed, is not contained within the physical universe.  There is no observation or set of observations that can corroborate or falsify the hypothesis that there is a supernatural god (let alone any claims about this god).  Further, I know of no philosophically convincing argument that such a god must exist.  As a result, both the claim that god exists and the claim that no god exists seem intellectually irresponsible.

So it feels a bit strange to post work by a religious poet, and to say that I love it.  Rumi writes frequently of the Friend or the Beautiful One or God, and cummings has written his poem to God (the only thing he capitalizes in his poetry, from what I’ve seen), ideas against which my mind protests. They attribute so much to a being whose existence is merely conceivable, and whose ability to affect the physical universe would be questionable at best anyway.  Yet I love the poems.  It is paradoxical.

Perhaps the reason the religious aspect does not ruin those poems for me is that their religion is not common religion.  It is not churchiness.  It is not bigoted, it does not demonize religious others, it pictures no spider held to dangle over the precipice of hell by a thin thread in the fingers of an angry god.  It is the opposite of those things; these are them whose religion is love, is intoxication with life.  If they believed their god were the vengeful sort, one who meant himself to be held in terror, they would have turned a deaf ear to their religion.  “To love is to reach God,” writes Rumi. (And the lover is a mad, crazy fool. The rules, fear, propriety and judgmentalism of common religion cannot touch him.)

His god is the one who says

Come, come, whoever you are.
Wonderer, worshipper, lover of leaving.
It doesn’t matter.
Ours is not a caravan of despair.

They may talk to fairies, but at least their fairies aren’t the murderous sort.

3 thoughts on “Ruminating, part deux

  1. Everything is one. Every being or thing is the part of this “one” some how and it is only an illusion when you see things are different from each other. This is why Sagan says “We are connected” (not only as humans but trees, animals, elements or stars) When you really begin to feel that there is only “one”, that is the point where your presence ends. You are “nothing”. This is where Rumi stands and describes.

    Being “Nothing” is a very beautiful feeling when you begin the world as “one”, and you are a very part of it. May be this is God, or a beautiful reflection of it in the material world. This is also where “Love” stands. How could you not love such “one”, where nothing else not exists? You look to yourself when you watch a bee, you see the love in the nature as much as it can be. The most huge thing we know is the universe, the cosmos. Sagan says “we are a way for the Cosmos, to know itself”. It experiences the love, through our eyes and hearts. What if the Cosmos is only a tiny part of that “one” who feels, loves …

    These are the ideas of Sufism, which also Rumi feels the same. There are no religion in the world, there is only “one”. People and politics creates or name it other. If really God has spoken in his own way with humanity for those many years, he always talked about this one but our translations was not enough for us to understand it as it is. I don’t want to end this paragraph with a supporter of any religion but in Kur’an it says “God created the life in order to be known (or I say to be also loved by his reflection (the material world) and every being feels this and dance around this idea like a Dervis (sufi dancers) There is only love in my eyes as far as I can look or feel. There is also pain or hate that I can watch, but can’t get it my heart. I expect it’s presence of hate or pain which makes us to love more. If there wasn’t hate, I would never compare and know about love. So nothing is bad in the life of duality. That’s why I can understand what it means to except everything as “one” and love them all.

    May be Sagan felt the same far from any religious thoughts. “We come from the starts, and we are a way for the Cosmos to know itself (as the most intelligent beings) That always reminds me the sentence “God created the Cosmos (with all the living beings) because it asked for to be known. And yes, I believe, God is a not a super natural being but I believe, what else other than God exist, when it looks to itself with love, through the eyes of beings. ?” This is where I disappear as nothing, but become a part of this one, this love. May be like Rumi did.

    With love

    Tolga

    • You may be thinking of Neil deGrasse Tyson, who said something beginning with “We are all connected”, when you first mention Sagan (you can find the whole statement – multiple times, actually :p – in this SoS video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGK84Poeynk). Also, pretty sure that’s not why he said it. He wasn’t being mystical, and Sagan wasn’t either – they both have a great sense of wonder & awe, but that’s not the same thing at all.

      • Yes, I know and I love this symphony of science video. May be because of this video, I remember that, this phrase was Sagan’s and you are right it was Tyson’s. But what I was saying was not that mystical. What is mystical anyway? Scientists wonder about lots of mysteries, they try to solve them and later state them as the laws of the nature. Mysteries become real for us. I don’t differ science and mysticism. Everything has a reason and meaning, they are mystery unless we understand how or why. Anyway this is something how I feel and I believe I can see the connections between science and Sufism more and more each day. May be, how Rumi feels in his heart will not be a mystery for humanity one day. I know about him more than from his poems. I live very close to his hometown and visited Konya, a couple of times.

        Thank you for sharing your beautiful ideas.

Leave a Reply

