Quirky phones

I don’t mean weird ringtones or visual designs.  With impressive frequency on my phone at work, I get calls from dialtones.  Not the ‘oops-they-picked-up-but-I-just-realized-this-is-the-wrong-number’ variety, either; I mean, a caller number shows up while the phone rings, I pick up the phone, and it is immediately a dial tone, as if I had picked up the receiver to make a call, not receive one.

Once or twice, I’ve gotten a call from a busy signal.

And just this week, there was a call from what was apparently an automated answering machine:

–if you would like to be connected with a live representative.  [pause] [hold music]

What?

Skynet? Is that you?
Leave a Reply

