Smart quotes on religion

One of the members of the Mensa group on FB posted a paraphrased quote by Galileo that is very good.  In looking it up, I found the others here by famous folk who I can believe really were pretty good thinkers.

I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with sense, reason, and intellect has intended us to forgo their use.
-Galileo Galilei

(Exactement how I would want to say it, were I to suppose that God exists.)

I cannot conceive otherwise than that He, the Infinite Father, expects or requires no worship or praise from us, but that He is even infinitely above it.
-Benjamin Franklin

(Again, were I to suppose the existence of God.)

If we accept that there is neither a heaven or a hell, we renounce the idea of any power beyond the perception of science; we then must accept responsibility for all we do in this life for there will be no form of atonement afterwards.
-Dominic Webb

Many people genuinely do not wish to be saints, and it is possible that some who achieve or aspire to sainthood have never had much temptation to be human beings.
-George Orwell

Most people are bothered by those passages in Scripture which they cannot understand; but as for me, I always notice that the passages in Scripture which trouble me most are those which I do understand.
-Mark Twain

I consider dogmatic belief and dogmatic denial very childish forms of conceit in a world of infinitely whirling complexity.
-Robert Anton Wilson

I have examined all the known superstitions of the world, and I do not find in our particular superstition of Christianity one redeeming feature. They are all alike founded on fables and mythology. Millions of innocent men, women and children, since the introduction of Christianity, have been burnt, tortured, fined and imprisoned. What has been the effect of this coercion? To make one half the world fools and the other half hypocrites; to support roguery and error all over the earth.
-Thomas Jefferson

Whenever we read the obscene stories, the voluptuous debaucheries, the cruel and torturous executions, the unrelenting vindictiveness, with which more than half the Bible is filled, it would be more consistent that we called it the word of a demon than the Word of God. It is a history of wickedness that has served to corrupt and brutalize mankind; and, for my part, I sincerely detest it as I detest everything that is cruel.
-Thomas Paine

Leave a Reply

