Wherein I go to the Sunshine State only qua nerd

That’s right, qua. Like it.

NASA has, for at least a couple of years now, run events called tweetups for their followers on Twitter. A group of tweeps descends upon one of the NASA space centers for the event, which can last two days and is focused on a launch scheduled at that space center. They bring in speakers (Bill Nye was at the last one!), tour the facilities, and watch the launch. And of course, the tweeps get to meet each other in person and hang out for good times. :) I first learned about these tweetups at some point in the last few months (probably after the GRE, since I was a wee bit oblivious to everything else while I prepped for that).

On September 8, if all goes well, NASA will launch the twin GRAIL craft to the moon from Kennedy Space Center in Florida. This launch has an associated tweetup, for which over 800 people registered–only 150 can come, picked randomly. Now, my luck has a history of being quite bad, but somehow, somehow, my name was one of those pulled. So I’m going to Florida to see a rocket launch at KSC!

I have never been to Florida before; I’ve never been to a NASA facility; I didn’t even know about NASA tweetups a few months ago. Now I have plane tickets, lodging, and rides all or nearly all sorted out; I’ll be staying in a beach house with five other tweeps who all seem like a cool bunch; and my Twitter and Facebook streams have more or less exploded in a flurry of space-nerd fervor. Chouette, non?

What I can’t decide is whether to let myself use the tweetup as an excuse to get a Canon G series camera at long (loooonng) last. I’ve been eyeing those cameras since the G9 came out but could never justify spending that kind of money–especially when I was in college, working (essentially) with a fixed budget. But now…

Now the Canon G13 is likely to come out in another month or two, if not sooner. They’ve kept a tight lid on the release date, so as far as I know it could be released on Monday or in October. I would really like to wait for that camera. But my current (old) little point & shoot won’t cut it, and I’m loath to ask to use (or in fact to use) my brother’s Rebel.

Ah, dilemmas. :P

I guess I’ll have to post more about GRAIL itself later. Meanwhile, this seems somewhat apropos. Also it’s stuck in my head (may it become stuck in yours):

2 thoughts on “Wherein I go to the Sunshine State only qua nerd

Leave a Reply

